General

Curbstomper – Catacomb Dex

I deliberately took last week off to give your wallets’ regenerating health a chance to kick in (that’s a lie, I did it for entirely selfish reasons), but let’s see what’s on offer this week.

PROTIP: If you follow as many indie devs on Twitter as I do, you’ve probably come across these all already. Now you know my secret power!

Catacomb Kids

You know what we really need? More Roguelikes! There aren’t already hundreds of them available or in development. Don’t mind me, I’m just being facetious. Considering my gaming habits over the past couple of years, ‘Roguelike’ seems to be my favourite genre to get mashed up with other genres. So ignore my jovial cynicism, and instead read about Catacomb Kids.

Catacomb Kids is a roguelike platformer in which both the titular catacombs and the (also titular) kids are procedurally generated, and the weapons and tools at your disposal are many and varied.

The graphics are reminiscent of Terraria, and the pace looks frenzied, and the catacombs look suitably dangerous. But don’t take my word for it, check out the gameplay video.

 

Dex

I actually think Cyberpunk is somewhat odd in the 21st Century. In Cyberpunk’s heyday it was a possible future, but now it’s an anarchic alternate history, almost as unrealistic as the science-fiction world of The Jetsons.

Anyway, Dex is a sidescrolling, Cyberpunk action/stealth RPG that takes place in both the real world and the glowing, neon-soaked halls of Cyberspace. Swapping between the two realities is the only way to proceed, passing difficult obstacles in one world by simply stepping out of it.

The screens on display show a painterly, handmade look, and they plan to have full voice acting in the final product. I’m not sure what I think of Dex, but go make up your own mind.

 

Dino Run 2

I must admit I am not a dinosaur running aficionado, so I’m not telling you about Dino Run 2 because of nostalgia, but because it sounds like the sort of arcade game I would want to play.

Pick a dinosaur, kit them out in different hats and what-not, and run from an unrelenting wall of destruction in competitive multiplayer, co-operative multiplayer, or single-player modes. There are also elements of procedural generation and exploration in the levels, which should help to keep it interesting and replayable. They aim for Windows, Mac, Linux, Ouya and eventual Android and iOS releases down the track. Go on, have a look-see.

 

Dyscourse

Dyscourse is a survival game with a load of charm, a distinctive art style, and a focus on interpersonal relations and group psychology. You play as Rita, and after surviving a plane crash it’s up to you to try and get out of this dire situation alive… and if you manage to keep some of your fellow survivors alive, that’ll probably be good too.

I generally bounce off games that focus on resource gathering and either randomly combining items and hoping, or looking up wikis to figure out how to make the tools you need to survive, so Dyscourse immediately appeals to me by taking the focus away from that and placing it squarely on the human element.

The campaign certainly paints an interesting picture, so go look.

Standard

Leave a Reply

